Blogger’s favorite bands fall fast in musical March Madness

Odi Opole, Web Editor

A month ago on Mar. 14, MTV’s 2nd annual Musical March Madness competition officially started. MTV Blogger James Montgomery got the word out on, and voting started the same day. In all, 64 bands competed for the number one spot, and each round ended at midnight on Sundays, giving fans one week to vote for their favorites. Montgomery also posted a bracket that divided the bands into different regions, and he posted the “# 1 Seeds” at the beginning of the competition. The # 1 Seed bands include: Foo Fighters, 30 Seconds to Mars, Arcade Fire, and Linkin Park. However, none of Montgomery’s top picks made it past the third round. Linkin Park made it farthest, and succumbed to Paramore in the Sweet Sixteen round of voting.
Disappointing, right?
The two finalists in the competition were Green Day and Paramore — an interesting match. Paramore wasn’t a favorite in competition, but the band beat out big names like No Doubt and Tokio Hotel on its way to the top. Green Day, who burned out early in last year’s competition, surprisingly powered through the bracket as they fought it out with huge bands such as U2, Blink-182, and previous tourney favorite Disturbed.
By the time voting opened up for the final round, it was obvious it was anyone’s game this year.
According to a post by Montgomery on April 5, Green Day took an early lead in voting. However, Paramore was able to power past Green Day throughout the day, until the final hours of voting, when Green Day took the competition down to the wire. In the end, Green Day won – by less than 2,500 votes (120,000 were cast in the final round). Personally, I was disappointed with the competition. Many of my favored artists, such as Florence & The Machine, All Time Low and My Chemical Romance did not make it as far as I’d hoped. What do you think? The final bracket of the competition can be accesed on, along with the results from and a breakdown of each round, courtesy of co-hosts “Dick Bagwell” and “Vincent Twice” (also known as Cobra Starship’s Ryland Blackinton and and Alex Suarez).