Former athletes inducted into BV Hall of Fame

Clay Cosby, Sports editor

The Blue Valley Athletic Hall of Fame is inducting new members from the period between the 2002-2003 school year to the 2008-2009 school year.

Individuals must have graduated more than one year ago to be nominated. Athletes and coaches will be inducted.

Teams, in addition to individuals, can be nominated for the award.

Individuals qualify automatically by garnering first team All-State honors.

Non-automatic qualifying nominees are determined by the athletic council which consists of all coaches as well as Athletic Director Bob Whitehead and principal Scott Bacon.

Whitehead said special recognition a player received, such as being named to an All-EKL team or breaking school records, are taken into consideration for the Hall of Fame.

Each coach decides what the criteria will be to evaluate individuals in their sport.

“They [athletes] have to meet four out of five or six criteria, usually if they make the higher ones they will get the lower ones,” girls basketball coach Andy Unrein said. “Then we will look back and say ‘OK, now is that stringent enough?’ We had a lot of kids [get inducted] this winter and we will put in more in the fall.”

Whitehead said next fall’s induction class will include football players instead of having the sport nominate athletes at this time.

This year’s induction class includes 17 athletes in sports including volleyball, girls and boys golf, girls and boys soccer, girls basketball, wrestling, boys and girls swim and dive, baseball and softball.

The new inductees also include one athlete, 2009 graduate Lindsey Muller, who is being inducted for two sports: softball and volleyball.

Teams that got the nod include the 2008 5A State Championship baseball team and the 2005 5A State Championship boys golf team.

Teams automatically qualify  for induction by winning a state championship, which means both the 2010 football and girls tennis teams will qualify for nomination in the future.

All athletes:

Volleyball John Schaaf ‘03 Lauren Wismer ‘09

Lindsey Muller ‘08 Matt deFlon ‘03 Wrestling Lindsey Petrick ‘07 Erin Lewis ‘06                    Pat Ross

Golf Shay Alford ‘05 Keaton Baker

Jessica Wagner ’02 Basketball Baseball

Adam Blue ‘05 Brianna Eldridge ‘08 Nate Kerkhoff ‘08

Soccer Taylor Hanson ‘08 Softball

Craig Cook ‘07 Swim and Dive Lindsey Muller ‘08

Mohammad Ramahi ‘08 Parker Sergeant ‘06